Strategic Focus Web Icons.png

Faculty & Staff Profiles


Alyssa Anker

Alyssa.jpg

6/7s Co-Head Teacher

alyssaa@corlearsschool.org 

Credentials:
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Arts
Bowdoin College, Bachelor of Arts

Teaching Since: 2012

At Corlears Since: 2014

What I love about Corlears: The community of teachers.


Taylor Baker

Taylor

Corlears Plus STEAM Teacher

taylorb@corlearsschool.org 

Credentials:
Graphic Design and Animation, Associate Degree

At Corlears Since: 2019


Betty Baez

Betty.jpg

2s Teacher & Corlears Plus Teacher

bettyb@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Pan American School, Associate Degree

Teaching Since: 1989

At Corlears Since: 1989

What I love about Corlears: Everything! The community, teachers, and most of all, the children and seeing their growth.

 


Nick Banns

Nick.jpg

8/9s Assistant Teacher

nicholasb@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Berklee College of Music, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2018

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: I love the opportunity to both inspire and be inspired by students – learning and growing alongside them in the warm and spirited community of Corlears.


Brian Billings

Brian+B.jpg

2s Head Teacher

brianb@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Crane School of Music, SUNY, Bachelor of Arts
Manhattanville College, Masters of Professional Studies


Zach Brewer

Zach.jpg

Educational Technology Specialist

zacharyb@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Connecticut College, Bachelor of Arts
Columbia University Teacher's College, Master of Arts

Teaching Since: 2005

At Corlears Since: 2012

What I love about Corlears: Helping kids use technology to express their creativity!


Alexa Cabiaza

Alexa.jpg

Receptionist & Administrative Support

alexac@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Ramapo College, Bachelor of Science

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: I love seeing the students come into Corlears with a smile!


Mary Caputo

Mary

Development Assistant

maryc@corlearsschool.org

At Corlears Since: 2018


Yvonne M. Casuso

Yvonne.jpg

Director of Development & Alumni Relations

yvonnec@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Wagner College, Bachelor of Science

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: The community.


Samantha Campbell

Sam.jpg

3/4s Head Teacher

samanthac@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
CUNY Hunter College, Master of Science in Early Childhood Education
CUNY Hunter College, Master of Science in Literacy Studies
SUNY New Paltz, Bachelor of Arts

Teaching Since: 2012

At Corlears Since: 2012

What I love about Corlears: How lucky I am to be in a job I so deeply love.


Benna Cheung

Benna.jpg

3/4s Head Teacher

bennac@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
University of Massachusetts Amherst, Bachelor of Arts
University of Cambridge, Master of Education
Bank Street College of Education, Certificate in Early Childhood Education

Teaching Since: 2010

At Corlears Since: 2017

What I love about Corlears: The amazing curiosity and sense of wonder that young children have as they explore and discover the world around them. The warmth, friendliness, and camaraderie of a small school community.


Rosaly Colon

Rosaly

Maintenance Staff

At Corlears Since: 2019


Chelsea Coussens

Chelsea.jpg

6/7s Co-Head Teacher 

chelseac@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Michigan State University, Bachelor of Arts
Michigan State University, P-B T.C.I.P.
New York University, Steinhardt School of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2006

At Corlears Since: 2008

What I love about Corlears: I have always loved the connection and community at Corlears. The experiences here are driven by our collective passions, interests, and needs. It's so special to be part of an intimate community within and surrounded by all of NYC.


Elliot Davila

Elliot

Maintenance Staff

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: The whole staff has been friendly and welcoming since day one. It makes me feel like I've been here for longer.


David Egolf

David.jpg

Head of School

davide@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Pratt Institute, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Fordham University, Master of Science in Education

Teaching Since: 1993

At Corlears Since: 2014

What I love about Corlears: I love watching the children grow into young leaders, and it is a true pleasure to work with such a thoughtful, dedicated, and passionate staff.


Elif Espinola-Engin

Elif.jpg

10s Head Teacher

elife@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
University of Virginia, Bachelor of Arts
Teachers College, Columbia University, Master of Science in Early Childhood and Special Education

Teaching Since: 2007

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: My coworkers.


Karina Estrella

Karina

3/4s Assistant Teacher

karinae@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Brooklyn College, Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education and Special Education

Teaching Since: 2019

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: I love sharing laughs with the children and watching them grow!


Robert Fantauzzi

Robert.jpg

Director of Business, Finance & Human Resources

robertf@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
College of St. Rose, Bachelor of Science
SUNY Albany, Master of Arts
Excelsior College, Master of Business Administration
SHRM-Senior Certified Professional

At Corlears Since: 2007

What I love about Corlears: Everyone is so friendly!


Shanee Fischer

Shanee+Fischer.jpg

Reception

shaneef@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
California State University – Northridge, Bachelor of Arts

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: The lovely community!


Alex Gelman

Alex.jpg

Director of Auxiliary Programs and Community Engagement

alexg@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Wesleyan University, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2009

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: The loving community of children, teachers, and families.


Ariel Grossman

Ariel.jpg

2s Teacher

arielg@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Bank Street College of Education, Master in Early Childhood General Education
New York State and New Jersey State Teaching Certification
Artistic/Executive Director Ariel Rivka Dance

Teaching Since: 2006

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: Children are the most honest humans around and the community at Corlears is supportive, educational, and helping to change the world!


Jonathan Guadalupe

Jonathan

Maintenance Staff

At Corlears Since: 2019


Megan Guttersohn

Megan

Communications Manager

megang@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Wayne State University, Bachelor of Arts

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: Corlears is such a warm and welcoming community! It's inspiring to watch the children of Corlears learn, grow, and become inquisitive and thoughtful people.


Peter Hamilton

Peter

Science Teacher (Leave Replacement)

peterh@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Master of Science in Childhood Eduction
Master of Arts in Environmental Conservation

Teaching Since: 2008

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: I love the sense of community and mutual respect.


Olympia Hamlor

Olympia.jpg

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

olympiah@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Utica College, Bachelor of Science
Walden College, Master of Science in Education

Teaching Since: 2013

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: Inspiring children to be creative!


Mara Harnett

Mara

8/9s Assistant Teacher

marah@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Master of Science in Childhood Education

Teaching Since: 2018

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: The warm and supportive community.


Lindsay Higgins

Lindsay%2BH.jpg

Learning Specialist

lindsayh@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Gettysburg College, Bachelor of Arts
New York University, Master in Childhood Education & Special Education
Orton-Gillingham Level 1 Certified

Teaching Since: 2011

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: I love the warm, tight-knit community of parents, staff, and children!


Thea Hubert

Thea.jpg

Dean of Students & Director of Enrollment Management

theah@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Hofstra University, Bachelor of Arts
Teachers College, Columbia University, Master of Science
New York State Licensed Speech-Language Pathologist
Permanent New York State Teaching Certificate
Certified Yoga Instructor

At Corlears Since: 2007

What I love about Corlears: We always have opportunities to learn, laugh, and grow!


Nyesha Hunt

Nyesha.jpg

3/4s Assistant Teacher

nyeshah@corlearsshool.org

Credentials:
Bachelor of Science

Teaching Since: 2015

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: I love that I can make a difference in the lives of children as an educator of color.


Brian Jailall

Brian%2BJ

Computer Support Specialist

At Corlears Since: 2015

What I love about Corlears: The community.


Robin Kassimir

Robin.jpg

School Nurse

robink@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Bachelor of Science, Public Health and Nursing

At Corlears Since: 2015

What I love about Corlears: The compassion and warmth of the community.


Nicole Kummer

Nicole

6/7s Co-Head Teacher

nicolek@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
University of South Florida, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science in Museum Education with Childhood Education

Teaching Since: 2013

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: Exploring with students.


Laurie Lee-Georgescu

Laurie.jpg

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

laurieg@corlearsschool.org

Cooper Union, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Hunter College, CUNY, Master in Bilingual Childhood Education (Spanish-English)

Teaching Since: 2013

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: I feel lucky to be a part of my students' growth and I love that we go on so many adventures together in Kindergarten!


Sandra Lewin

Sandy.jpg

Physical Education Teacher

sandral@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Brooklyn College, Bachelor of Arts

Teaching Since: 1997

At Corlears Since: 1997

What I love about Corlears: Our community and core values.


Anne Lieberson

Anne.jpg

3/4s Head Teacher

annel@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
New York University, Bachelor of Science
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2013

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: Corlears is special because every teacher brings their own unique, exciting style to their classroom. I feel like I am always learning something new from my colleagues. I also know that everyone here leads with love, which is the most important part of being a teacher!


Kyle Lukoff

Kyle.jpg

School Librarian

kylel@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Barnard College, Columbia University, Bachelor of Arts
Queens College, CUNY, Master of Library Science

Teaching Since: 2012

At Corlears Since: 2012

What I love about Corlears: The small community and the incredible kids.


Laura Lutz

Laura

School Librarian (Leave Replacement)

laural@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Willamette University, Bachelor of Arts
University of Arizona, Master of Information Resources & Library Science

Teaching Since: 2012

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: The outstanding sense of community and belonging!


Michelle Malakoff

Michelle.jpg

2s Head Teacher

michellem@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
University of Delaware, Bachelor of Arts
Hunter College, CUNY, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2010

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: Our wonderful community.


Patricia Marin

Patricia.jpg

Math Coach

patriciam@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
New York University, Bachelor of Science
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 1997

At Corlears Since: 1997

What I love about Corlears: The teachers are committed to their craft.


Rodolfo Mercedes

Rudy.jpg

3/4s Assistant Teacher

rodolfom@corlearsschool.org

Teaching Since: 2014

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: Being a part of this magnificent, warm and colorful community.


Sara Nixon

Sara.jpg

8/9s Head Teacher

saran@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Middle Tennessee State University, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2011

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: The wonderful community!


Meredith Orloff

Meredith.jpg

Admissions Associate and Registrar

mereditho@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Union College, Bachelor of Arts

At Corlears Since: 2017

What I love about Corlears: I love welcoming people into our vibrant community!


César Orozco

Cesar.jpg

Music Teacher

cesaro@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins University, Graduate Performance Diploma
Escuela Nacional de Artes, Bachelor of Music

Teaching Since: 2002

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: The whole community is amazing and we all love music!


Silvia Pacio

Silvia.JPG

Developmental Support Counselor

silviap@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
John Jay College, CUNY, Bachelor of Arts
Brooklyn College, Bilingual Advanced Certificate
Brooklyn College, Master of Science in Education in School Psychology

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: I love how small our school is and how it allows me to work closely with teachers, students, and parents. It is a lovely school community.


Joshua Penn

Josh.jpg

8/9s Assistant Teacher

joshuap@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Northeastern University, Bachelor of Science
Anticipated Master of Science in Education, Spring 2020

Teaching Since: 2017

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: Getting to work with such a warm and friendly community, and of course, our absolutely amazing students!


Nyasha Quinones

Nyasha.jpg

Human Resources & Business Affairs Assistant

nyashaq@corlearsschool.org

Adelphi University, Bachelor of Arts

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: The smiles I see everyday!


Judith Ribicoff

Judith.jpg

2s Teacher

judithr@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Rhode Island School of Design, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Queens College, CUNY, Master of Fine Arts

Teaching Since: 1995

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: I love this community! Everyone is so warm and caring.


Dora Rice

Dora.jpg

8/9s Head Teacher

dorar@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Earlham College, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Science

Teaching Since: 2012

At Corlears Since: 2016

What I love about Corlears: The amazing students and faculty! I love being a part of our incredible, committed community.


Amy-Marie Rivera

Amy-Marie.jpg

Assistant Head of School & Director of Teaching and Learning

amy-marier@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Bank Street College of Education, Advanced Master with Literacy Specialization
Bank Street College of Education, Master in Early Childhood Education (Birth-6th)
University of Rochester, Bachelor of Arts
Certified Reading Teacher
Permanent New York State Teaching Certification (Birth-6th grade)

Teaching Since: 1994

At Corlears Since: 2000

What I love about Corlears: Community, collaboration and commitment.


Lindsay Rutledge

Lindsay%2BR.jpg

Spanish Teacher

lindsayr@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Bachelor of Arts
Rutgers University, Master of Arts in Spanish Education

Teaching Since: 2007

At Corlears Since: 2013

What I love about Corlears: I love having the opportunity to teach the same children through their entire time at Corlears. I get to truly watch them grow as they go from little learners to big thinkers.


Rachel Sherman

Rachel

6/7s Co-Head Teacher

rachels@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Hofstra University, Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood and Elementary Education (with a concentration in Linguistics)
Hunter College, Master of Science in Early Childhood Special Education
New York State Early Childhood Certification

Teaching Since: 2015

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: The small and warm community.


Henna Simmons

Henna.jpg

2s Teacher

hennas@corlearsschool.org

Belmont University, Bachelor of Arts
Belmont University, Master of Arts in Teaching

Teaching Since: 2015

At Corlears Since: 2018


Janil Tejada

Janil

Outplacement Counselor

janilt@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Connecticut College, Bachelor of Arts

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: I love coming into this bright, creative, and welcoming space every day.


Michael Tirado

Michael

Director of Facilities

michaelt@corlearsschool.org

At Corlears Since: 2018

What I love about Corlears: The staff is incredible and supportive.


Ty Tompkins

Ty

Plus Sports Teacher

tyt@corlearsschool.org

At Corlears Since: 2019


Mansi Vasa

Mansi

Director of Equity, Inclusion and Community LIfe

mansiv@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Barnard College, Columbia University, Bachelor of Arts
Bank Street College of Education, Master of Arts
New York State Certification in Childhood Education
New York State Certification in Teaching Literacy

Teaching Since: 2004

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: Being in spaces that foster kindness, creativity, courage, and community!


Christine Walker

Christine

Studio Art Teacher

christinew@corlearsschool.org

Credentials:
Syracuse University, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Pratt Institute, Master of Science in Art Education

Teaching Since: 1999

At Corlears Since: 2019

What I love about Corlears: I love sharing my passion for art making with children!